How to Delete Photos From an iPhone

by David Weedmark

Quickly deleting photos from an iPhone is not an obvious process, but it's actually quite easy to do once you know how. Whether you use a Mac or a PC, you can back up your photos to your computer and then delete them from the iPhone without the need of any special software, or even Apple iTunes. It's important to delete accumulated photos occasionally to ensure you'll always have free space on the iPhone.

Using a PC

Connect the iPhone to your PC using the USB cable it came with.

Click the Start button and select "Computer" to open Windows Explorer.

Double-click the iPhone in Windows Explorer to reveal its folders. Double-click "Internal Storage," then "DCIM" and then "100APPLE." This is the iPhone's Camera Roll folder.

Hold down the "Ctrl" key and click each photo you want to save to the PC. Drag these into any folder in your PC.

Click the "Eject" button beside your iPhone in Windows Explorer and then disconnect it from the USB cable.

Wake the iPhone from sleep mode by pressing the "Home" button and dragging your finger across the slider.

Tap the "Photos" icon and then tap the "Camera Roll" album. Tap the "Send" icon in the upper right corner of the screen. This icon is a box with an arrow pointing out of it.

Tap all the photo icons you want to delete. Each selected photo becomes grayed out and a red check mark appears on it. Tap the "Delete" button in the bottom right corner of the screen. A confirmation dialog box opens. Tap "Delete Photos" in the dialog box. The photos are deleted.

Using a Mac

Connect the iPhone to your Mac computer using the USB cable that came with it.

Launch Finder from the Dock and double-click the "Applications" folder. Double-click "Image Capture." When Image Capture launches, all the images in the iPhone Camera Roll are displayed.

Hold down the "Command" key and click the images you want to save to your computer before deleting them. To select all the photos, press "Command-A" on the keyboard.

Click the "Import To" menu and select a destination folder where the photos can be saved. Select the "Delete After Input" option by clicking the check box and then click the "Download" button.

Select any remaining images that you do not want to download to your computer but want deleted from the iPhone. Click the "Delete" button at that bottom of the window. The button has a red circle with a line through it. A dialog box opens. Click "Delete" to confirm you want to permanently delete the images. The images are deleted immediately.

Deleting Photos Using Only an iPhone

Tap the "Photos" app on the iPhone Home screen. Tap the "Camera Roll" or other album containing the photos you want to delete.

Tap the icon in the upper left corner of the screen that resembles a square with an arrow pointing out from it.

Tap each photo you want to delete from the iPhone. The photo's icon is grayed out and a red circle with a check mark appears in the corner.

Tap the "Delete" button. The selected photos are deleted from the iPhone.

Warning

  • Copy photos you want to save to your computer or other storage media before deleting them from an iPhone. When you delete the images on the iPhone, they are gone forever if you haven't copied them to a computer.

Photo Credits

  • Matt Cardy/Getty Images News/Getty Images