How Do You Master Reset a Garmin eTrex Legend?

by Kefa Olang

Performing a master reset on your Garmin eTrex Legend clears saved data and restores the device back to its factory settings. A master reset can be useful if you want to clear old data and start a new trip. It also proves useful if your GPS isn't performing as expected; resetting it solves common problems such as freezing, hangups and satellite connection issues. If your device isn't performing as expected or you want to clear all trip information, perform a master reset to restore normal operation.

Backing Up eTrex Legend

Download and install the latest version of Trip and Waypoint Manager to your computer, if you don't already have it (see Resources). Download and install the latest version of MapSource as well (see Resources).

Connect your Garmin eTrex Legend GPS to the computer using the USB cable.

Open MapSource and select "Transfer." Choose "Receive From Device" and select the "Find Device" button.

Check the fields you want from the "What to Receive" box. Click the "Receive" button and click "OK." All of your user data will appear in MapSource.

Click "File" and select "Save." Choose the location you want to save your backup, enter a filename and click "Save" to back up your Garmin eTrex Legend's content.

Performing A Master Reset

Turn off your Garmin eTrex Legend and press the "Page," "Enter," and "Power" buttons simultaneously.

Release the buttons when the "Do you really want to erase user data?" message appears on the screen.

Select "Yes" to confirm your selection. The GPS will reset user data such as waypoints, routes, tracks and geocaches.

Tips

  • Always backup your Garmin eTrex Legend before performing a master reset. You can restore the backup to your GPS anytime you want.
  • After performing a master reset, leave your Garmin eTrex Legend outside for at least 20 minutes to acquire satellite data.

About the Author

Photo Credits

  • Jelena83/iStock/Getty Images